review

Review of The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

13636400descriptiondescriptiondescriptiondescriptiondescription

When I read the blurb for The Bone Season, I imagined it would be a dystopian, supernatural version of Inception, with possibly a hint of The Matrix.

It was nothing like that.

Sure, it’s dystopian and supernatural, but in the end The Bone Season was a very dark version of The Black Magician Trilogy with a much more developed world, far better characters and oh-em-gee spirit combat.

I loved every second of it.

description

I love reading a book and genuinely not being able to guess what’s going to happen. Predictability is one of the worst crimes a book can commit, and luckily The Bone Season had none of it – Except maybe for the whole Warden & Paige thing, but I’ll let that slide.

I also love that this was really not a YA book, it was most definitely adult and did not sugar coat a damn thing. Beautifully dark, violent and unashamed swearing. It’s so refreshing to find an amazing paranormal novel intended for adults!

I loved all the characters; Paige was a fantastic heroine and I can’t wait to see more. World-building was immense and the detail about the clairvoyants and spirit combat was off the charts. But I want more! Trouble is there is so much detail to Samantha Shannon’s world but not enough of it has been explained! I want to know exactly what each of the clairvoyants do and how they connect to the aether. I want to know about the different types of spirits and how you become one. I want more on the history. More on the plot. More about Warden. And Paige. I just want more. NOW.

description

I shouldn’t have read this book the week it came out. I’ll be torturing myself waiting for the next books to be released.

It’s like Harry Potter all over again. A seven book series published by Bloomsbury. Who, incidentally, took a chance on a 21-year-old debut author and gave her a six-figure publishing deal – and that’s just for the first three books. There’s a movie deal and everything. Samantha Shannon, I’d hate your guts if you weren’t so damn talented. You deserve it all. The Bone Season was incredibly well-written and had me hooked from the start. More people need to read this.

DO IT!

One thought on “Review of The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Books of 2013 and Why You Should Read Them | Tesscatiful

Talk to me

