Tess’s Top 10 Reads of 2014

#10 – Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge

 

Genre: Urban Fantasy / Horror
Pages: 409
Published: 2014 (Pan MacMillan)

■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

“The plot and fantasy world was just outstanding. Though it definitely had a Gaiman vibe – which I would describe as a very “alternative and dark fairy tale” – it’s the most original mid-fantasy I have read in a long time. Because of that I was continuously blown away by new magical creatures, aspects and ideas. Due to its originality I could never predict where the plot was going to go and what would happen to these characters I had grown really fond of.”
Picture1

#9 – The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

 

Genre: Urban Fantasy / YA
Pages: 301
Published: 2014 (Candlewick Press)

■■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

“It is, in essence, a story about a family. A family that just happens to be a little bit magical. The story is intended to explore the different sides and angles of love, precisely by not writing about love; just writing about life, and the love that we can find in between. Loved it.”

#8 – The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke

 

Genre: Sci-Fi / Romance
Pages: 391
Published: 2013 (Angry Robot)

■■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

“Read it, enjoy it, think about it. Then get your friends to read it and start an in-depth Facebook discussion about the true meaning of consciousness. And let me know if you high-fived your Kindle at any point.”
Picture1

#7 – The Martian by Andy Weir

 

Genre: Sci-Fi
Pages: 369
Published: 2014 (Ebury Digital)

■■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

“Hardcore survivalism? Interesting and different location? High stakes, excitement, a protagonist that makes the Book Boyfriend list? OH YES.”

Picture1

#6 – In The After by Demitria Lunetta

 

Genre: Dystopia / Zombies
Pages: 480
Published: 2014 (HarperTeen)

■■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

“Made of win. I didn’t expect to enjoy this so much, but the story was everything I wanted. It’s probably the first book I’ve ever read where I could predict what was going to happen, but everything was still so suspenseful and well-written it made me forget that I had, in fact, predicted the happenings. The sequel In The End is equally enjoyable.”

#5 – Lirael by Garth Nix

 

Genre: Fantasy / YA
Pages: 527
Published: 2004 (Harper Collins)

■■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

“My favourite book of Garth Nix’s epic Old Kingdom series (not that I’ve read them all yet!). This fantasy world is one of the best out there; so different and interesting, it’s the best part of the books for me.”

#4 – Gates of Thread and Stone by Lori M. Lee

 

Genre: Fantasy / YA
Pages: 335
Published: 2014 (Skyscape)

■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

Gates of Thread and Stone is truly a quality read.I’d recommend it for anyone who loves a fairly dark and clever YA read. Someone who wants an original concept. Someone who maybe read The Winner’s Curse earlier this year and wants the same level of world-building or similar kind of romance. With a much better plot, though. GOD, ALL OF THAT PLOT.”

Picture1

#3 – Crushed by Eliza Crewe

 

Genre: Urban Fantasy / YA
Pages: 271
Published: 2014 (Strange Chemistry)

■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

“It is rare, like a diamond in the rough, but it exists; a sequel that is better than the first book. I loved every minute: a fantastic anti-hero, equally wonderful secondary characters, a different and fast-paced plot with a ton of comedy and emotional turmoil.  I could fault Crushed if I tried enough, but I don’t need or want to. Actually you know what, I can fault it: it was over too soon.”

Picture1

#2 – Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

 

Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 207
Published: 1911 (Hodder & Stoughton)

■■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

“It has become one of my most beloved classics, I found it far superior than any Hollywood or Disney adaption I’ve seen, it’s just incredible. It’s fantastically written: creative, clever and very funny. I didn’t expect the funnies, to be honest. Peter Pan is one of the most exciting and fascinating characters in literature, and all the rest of them are a joy to read about too. This book was everything the Disney film told me it would be, and bags more to boot.”

#1 – Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

 

Genre: Sci-Fi / YA
Pages: 421
Published: 2014 (Harper Collins)

■■■■■■■■■■_Concept
■■■■■■■■■■_World building
■■■■■■■■■■_Plot
■■■■■■■■■_Writing
■■■■■■■■■■_Protagonist
■■■■■■■■■■_Character development

_
_

“The Shatter Me trilogy is the only series I have properly devoured this year. It’s not something I would easily recommend, as I had a lot of problems with it, but my love for the protagonist was so strong it overrode everything else. The series taught me a lot, and it will always stick with me. Not for the plot, the world-building, or any form of plausible sci-fi element which was not of abundance in this, but for a character I connected to more strongly than any other, an immense realism of humanity, and a heart-wrenching test of endurance.”

Picture1

See you in 2015! x

1 Comment

Filed under Listicles, Reviews

One response to “Tess’s Top 10 Reads of 2014

  1. Good reviews, and congratulations on reaching your reading challenge for 2014. What an achievement. Happy New Year. MK

    Like

Talk to me

