Listicle

Slump Over?! Reading Round Up ~ May 2017

If you’ll excuse the painful grammar for a sec: May may have sorted out my reading slump. It has finally been a good month for books, mainly due to the many novellas I’ve been reading! I’ve made my way through a couple which have been nice little reminders about self-awareness, told with very different styles. The Necklace by Guy de Maupassant was a fairy tale, and This is Water by David Foster Wallace was an oddly formatted speech book. Both were short and sweet, both serving as reminders that we can choose how we view the world.

I didn’t neglect the longer books either, A Court of Wings and Ruin coming in at 700 pages of pure glory. It was an emotional end to the series (the second book to ever make me cry), and though I think the trilogy peaked at the second book, this left me happy and satisfied. I’m very happy we get to explore more of this world in a new trilogy, though. This series struck me as Maas’s best writing yet, and I can’t wait to see what else is in store – a new couple to ship, please?!

The Stranger in the Woods by Michael Finkel was a new release this year, and one I really ended up enjoying. May seems to have been a month for self-reflection, and this non-fiction about the life of a hermit really got me to thinking. Join the discussion on the review page!

NEXT UP FOR ME

After watching the films (again), and especially with the release of Beren and Luthien this month, I’m going to attempt some Tolkien again. The HobbitΒ and The Fellowship of the Ring remain the only two novels I’ve completed; I gave up halfway through The Two Towers and The Silmarillion sucked away several years of my life before I put it indefinitely on hold.
Tolkien’s world is just so fascinating and inspiring to me though, and I’ve decided to try again. I’m starting with The Children of Hurin, as I’ve heard it’s dark as Morgoth and I hope I can find the awesome I’m looking for.

JUNE RELEASES I’M EXCITED FOR

Talk to me

